Like all states, Nebraska has requirements for obtaining a driver’s license, with different requirements for new and current residents. In addition, new drivers in the state must meet certain conditions before they are able to drive with no restrictions.

License Requirements
In Nebraska, those who move into the state who plan to surrender a valid out-of-state license, and who are 18 years or older, must submit to a vision test. At the discretion of the discretion of the Department of Motor Vehicle staff, a driving test may be administered. If the new resident is unable to surrender an out-of-state license, written and driving tests are required along with proof of identification. Nebraska statute requires one form of identification showing name and date of birth, such as a birth certificate or passport, as well as two forms of address verification, such as utility bills or vehicle registration. Proof of identification is required for both new licenses and renewals. New residents under the age of 18 must meet all Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP) requirements and obtain a POP before being issued a regular license in Nebraska.

License Fees

Driver’s License fees in Nebraska vary based on the period the license is valid, or whether the driver needs lens restrictions. In addition, drivers who need lens restrictions on their license are restricted in the length of time a license may be renewed. Fees are:

Operator’s or Motorcycle License
One year or less – $7.50
More than one year but less than two – $12.50
More than two years but less than three – $16.50
More than three years but less than four – $21.50
Valid for five years – $26.50

Bioptic or telescopic lens restriction
One year or less – $7.50
More than one year but less than two – $12.50

School Learner’s Permit (LPE) – $10.50

School Permit (SCP) – $10.50

Learner’s Permit (LPD) – $10.50

Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP)
Original – $17.50
Bioptic or telescopic lens restriction
One year or less – $7.50
More than one but less than two years – $17.50

Duplicate or Replacement – $13.50

Change of class, endorsement or restriction – $7.50

Teen Driver Requirements

Nebraska has a graduated license program, requiring drivers under the age of 18 to obtain varying levels of licenses to insure highway safety. Licenses issued to those under 18 and the requirements to get them to include:

School Learner’s Permit (LPE) – Allows a student to legally practice driving. Applicants must be eligible for a school permit, be at least 14 but less than 16 years and three months. The license is issued for three months but can be renewed. A vision and written test are required, and the holder of an LPE must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years or older when they are driving a vehicle.

School Permit (SCP) – A Nebraska resident who is at least 14 years and two months old, but younger than 16 and three months, may apply for an SCP if they live more than one and one-half miles from the school they attend, or resides outside of a city with 5,000 or more residents. The SCP allows the driver to travel to and from the school they attend, unsupervised. When not traveling to and from school, the driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years or older. The applicant must have completed a DMV approved safety course, pass a written and driving test given by the course instructor, as well as provide a 50-Hour Certification Form, with at least ten hours between sunset and sunrise, that has been signed by a parent or guardian.

Learner’s Permit (LPD) – Although the written test may be taken 60 days prior to the applicants 15th birthday, the LPD cannot be issued until the driver turns 15. A licensed driver who is 21 or older must accompany the holder of an LPD. The LPD is valid for one year and may be renewed.

Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP) – An applicant may apply for the POP 60 days prior to their 16th birthday, but the license may not be issued until they turn 16. Those who hold a valid LPE, LPD or SCP for six months, and has not accumulated three or more points in the six months prior to applying are eligible for the POP. The individual may only operate a vehicle unsupervised from 6 AM until midnight unless they are driving to or from work or a school activity. When a licensed driver over 21 is in the vehicle, the POP holder may drive during any hours. During the first six months, no more than one passenger under the age of 19 who is not an immediate family member may ride in a motor vehicle where the holder of a POP is driving.

An interactive DMV written test is available online, and the Sample Test is a good resource for preparing for the Nebraska written test. In addition, the Nebraska Driver License Practice Test for iPad allows iPad users to prepare for the driving test as well.

 

Take Free Practice Test Now

Nebraska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Nebraska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Nebraska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Nebraska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Nebraska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Nebraska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Nebraska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)

It is recommended that you take a practice test before you take the actual written test. There are seven free practice tests for each state. First two tests cover roads signs and the other tests cover road and traffic rules.



How to Get a Driver’s License in Nebraska
Rate this

©2018 driverknowledge.com

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?