To get a driver’s license in the state of Montana is a relatively easy process. This article will serve as a primer to help you accomplish that task. Regardless of your age or other status, if you want to get a driver’s license in the state of Montana you must start by earning a Class D license, that which you must have to operate most passenger vehicles in the state. If you want to apply for a license to drive either a motorcycle or a commercial vehicle (Class A, B, or C), you must first hold a Class D license.
Montana Drivers License Requirements
To receive a driver’s license, you must first pass the written driver’s license examination, which you can take at any driver’s exam station located throughout the state. In order to take a driver’s license test, you must first make an appointment with one of the department offices. It’s also a good idea to call in prior to your appointment to ensure that the time and date are still valid.
Prior to taking a driver’s test, you can request a practice test. You may apply for a driver’s license within 60 days of establishing residency in the state. If you are a first time driver, or you hold an out-of-state license that has expired, you must take the Montana driver’s license test prior to receiving a license.
To make the most of your time as well as to better ensure that you will pass the written examination, it’s a good idea to have read the Montana Driver’s License Manual prior to taking the written or driving tests to familiarize yourself with the rules of the road that might be unique to this state.
If you fail your written driver’s test you can take it again the next day or at the time of your next appointment. You are given three chances to pass the test, but if you need to take it a fourth time you must start the entire process again–fees included.
Audio tests are available for those with special needs.
Montana Drivers License Cost
Prior to taking your driving test, you are required to take a vision test and to pay the $ 40 license fee.
The cost of a regular, non-commercial (Class D) license is $40 for an eight-year license ($5 per year), plus the 50-cent fee for mailing the license renewal reminder.
In order to apply for a state identification card, you must pay an $ 8 fee.
To add a motorcycle endorsement, additional charges of $4 or less (50 cents per year) in required.
The law provides for anyone 14 1/2 years of age or older, who enrolls in a state-approved traffic education program, to be issued a learner’s permit, which allows that person to drive under the supervision of an instructor. This permit expires after the course is completed. If you are 16 or older, you can receive a learner’s permit, even if you have not completed a driver’s education program. This permit allows you to drive while under the supervision of a licensed driver who holds a license for the same type of vehicle.
The Driving Test
Upon your successful completion of the written driver’s test, you need to make an appointment to take the driving test, which is administered by an examiner at any of the state’s driving exam stations. When you arrive to take the test, you will need to produce the following:
Two forms of identification.
One proof of Montana residency.
One proof of your citizenship or right to reside in the U.S.
Prior to taking your driving test, you are required to take a vision test and to pay the $ 40.50 license fee.
All new drivers are required to take the driving test. If a person is not a new driver but is new to driving in Montana, it is up to the examiner to determine whether they should take the driving test.
Pass or Fail
If you pass the driving test, your Montana driver’s license will be sent to you in the mail. If you fail the driving test, just as in the case of the written portion of the exam, you can take it to gain the next day or at the time of your next appointment. Again, you have three opportunities to pass the exam, but if you need to take it a fourth time you must start the process again–including the payment of fees.
State Identification Cards
Besides driver’s licenses, you may apply for a state identification card at the driver’s license offices. A state identification card is not required, but it is often a good thing to have to establish identification in the event you want to cash checks, board at airports, entering a bar or similar establishment, and for other purposes. A state ID card is intended for use in establishing identification only. There are no driving privileges intended with an ID card.
In order to apply for a state identification card you must pay an $ 8 fee and present the following documentation:
One proof of identity.
Proof of Montana residency. An address with post office box number cannot be accepted as proof.
State identification cards are valid for four years.
Anyone in possession of a valid driver’s license from a foreign country is allowed to use that license to drive in the state of Montana for up to 60 days before needing to obtain a license from this state. However, when you do apply for a driver’s license, you will need to provide the same documentation as a resident, except with more focus on your residency status.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Montana DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Montana DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Montana DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Montana DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Montana DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Montana DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Montana DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)