In Nevada, there are two ways to obtain a driver’s license. Minors, under the age of 18, must take a different route than new adult drivers. By following these steps, you will find yourself with a drivers’ license in no time at all.
1. Drivers under the age of 18 must enroll in a driver education course. Students as young as 15 may join the courses and there are multiple options. You can choose to attend a classroom course or take the class online. Both options require 50 hours of driving experience with a licensed driver. A written log is required. Some public high schools offer drivers education courses but you may also attend a DMV-licensed facility.
2. If you are over the age of 15 ½, you may bring your birth certificate, ID card or social security card to obtain your learner’s permit. In addition, the cost of the written and skills tests is $25.
3. At the DMV you must pass a vision test, passing with a minimum of 20/40 in each eye. Drivers who need glasses or contact lenses to drive will be given a special restriction.
4. The written exam will test your knowledge of driving. The Nevada exam includes 50 questions, all of which are multiple choice. You must score 80% or higher to pass. You can study the Nevada Drivers Handbook to ensure you receive the highest score possible.
5. Once you have received your learner’s permit, you may drive with another licensed driver over the age of 21.
6. You need to bring several items with you to the DMV to obtain a complete license. Your drivers education school will provide you with a Certificate of Completion or a high school transcript. You must also bring a parent or guardian, learners permit, proof of identity, driving experience log and vehicle registration with insurance. Of course you also need a car to take the exam with. In addition, you must be 16 years old, have been in no accidents in which you were at fault within the last six months and have no moving violations within six months.
7. Finally, you must pass a driving skills test. You may schedule your exam online or with a phone call to the DMV. When you arrive, the examiner will give you driving instructions to follow. You may not violate traffic laws or you will fail automatically. The test proctor will also examine the car for safety, ensuring that you are aware of hand signals and turn signals.
8. The cost for the drivers’ is $22 and a parent or guardian must assume all financial responsibility for a minor driver.
9. If you pass the exam you will receive a temporary license until your photo ID arrives in the mail. This should take less than 10 business days.
As you can see, the steps to obtaining a Nevada drivers’ license is straightforward. Minors have more restrictions than adults but both routes are relatively simple.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Nevada DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Nevada DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Nevada DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Nevada DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Nevada DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Nevada DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Nevada DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)