Getting a driver’s license in Wyoming is an easy, step by step process. The state has 29 locations where you can bring your paperwork, take any required exams (including vision tests), and get your photo taken.
You’ll also need to bring in identification that establishes who you are and where you are a resident. Specifically, you’ll need three forms of identification. One has to be a birth certificate, driver’s license, or a passport: something that establishes your identity. Another has to show your social security number. This is typically your social security card or a W2 form from an employer. And finally, you’ll need to show two documents that establish proof of Wyoming residency. These can be any business documents that have both your full name and your current Wyoming address, like a pay stub, proof of insurance, utility bill, or voter registration card. The Wyoming DMV website has a full list of all acceptable documents in each category, so you can check to make sure you have the right documentation before going to the driver exam station.
If you are a new driver and are looking to get your first driver’s license, there are a few more license requirements in addition to the vision test and ID requirements outlined above. For one, you’ll be required to take a written test on the rules of the road. You can take this test twice in any given day if you don’t pass the first time. You’ll also need to take a road skills tests for which you’ll need to provide a vehicle that is licensed, registered, and insured (and of the same class as the license you are seeking). If you break any driving laws, you will fail automatically, and it’s at the examiner’s discretion when they’ll let you retest. You can in some cases be issued a waiver of the road skills test by completing a certified driver education or motorcycle skills course.
New Driver License & Permit Fees:
No matter if you’re new to Wyoming or new to driving, you’ll need to pay a fee for your license. The license cost varies based on what kind of license or permit you need and whether it is new or a renewal. All driver exam stations accept cash, check, or money order; some accept debit or credit cards, but charge an extra processing fee for that service.
$20 – Class A, B, or C (non-CDL)
$25 – Any class CDL
$3 – Motorcycle (added to class of license)
Renewal Driver License & Permit Fees:
$15 – Class A, B, or C (non-CDL)
$20 – Any class CDL
$3 – Motorcycle (added to class of license)
The license process is different depending on whether you’re a new driver or someone who has a license from another state. If you’re over 18 and are looking to transfer your existing license to Wyoming, the steps are simple. You have one year from the time you establish residency in Wyoming to get a license. You’ll need to go in person into one of the state driver exam stations, where you’ll surrender your current driver’s license. You’ll be given a vision test, photographed, and in some cases (at the discretion of the examiner) asked to take a written or road skills test. If you’re asked to take a road skills test, you’ll need to have access to a vehicle to take the exam in, and it needs to be the same class of vehicle as the one you’ll be licensed to drive.
Renew existing driver’s license
If you need to renew your existing Wyoming driver’s license or you’ve lost your license, you are to follow similar steps: go in person to the driver exam station, bring the three forms of ID outlined above, get your picture taken, and take any required tests (including a vision exam). The only exception is that Wyoming residents are allowed one renewal by mail. You can download the forms online and mail them in along with two proofs of residency. Note that if you’ve already renewed your driver’s license once by mail, you’ll be required next time to appear in person for your renewal.
These rules apply to anyone seeking a license for the first time. If you’re under the age of 17, there are additional intermediate levels of driver’s license before you can receive a full license. Youths aged 14-15 can apply for a restricted learner’s permit or hardship permit if they live far from their schools or jobs. They need to have a licensed driver in the car with them at all times but can apply for a full restricted driver’s license after 10 days of learning. This will allow them to drive during the day, within 50 miles of their registered domicile. Youths aged 15-16 can apply for a regular learner’s permit, which can be converted to a regular driver’s license after 10 days, as well. In both cases, you will need to pass all required tests or have the driver’s practice test waived through the driver’s education program in order to receive a full license.
If you have any questions about the process of getting your Wyoming driver’s license, you can call the Department of Motor Vehicles. They are open Monday-Friday from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Wyoming DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Wyoming DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Wyoming DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Wyoming DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Wyoming DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Wyoming DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Wyoming DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)