In order to obtain a driver’s license in Wisconsin, the proper requirements must be met, fees must be paid and tests must be passed. Before you go to your local DMV in Wisconsin, make sure you are ready for any exams, costs, or prerequisites. Being prepared will make your experience much easier.
License Requirements for Wisconsin
Before heading to the DMV, always review the requirements for obtaining a driver’s license in the state of Wisconsin. The requirements differ based on your age and type of license desired. Residents under 18 years of age must be at least 16 years old, have an adult sponsor and proof of school enrollment. You must also have 30 hours of driving practice with 10 of those hours taking place at night. All residents must show proof of identification and residency, pay necessary fees, pass the driving test and fill out the MV 3001 application. Furthermore, you must hold an “instruction permit” for at least a week if you have no other driver’s license. As for methods of identification, passports expired driver’s licenses, social security cards and marriage licenses all meet requirements. Only original documents will be accepted. You must also answer questions regarding your health and pass a vision exam. If you have a medical condition, consult with your doctor about your ability to drive and obtain a license.
Driver’s License Cost and Fees
For a Class D instruction permit or instruction permit renewal of 12 months, the fee is $35. Original probationary licenses, which expire 2 or 3 years from your birthday cost $28. An eight-year renewal costs $34. The fee for a skills exam is $15. It is important to remember that every driver who renews their license past the expiration date must pay a fine of $5. All fees and costs can be paid by cash, check or through major credit cards like MasterCard, American Express or Discover. Most debit cards are accepted.
The Driver’s License Process in Wisconsin
To begin the process, make sure to meet the appropriate aforementioned requirements. Double check your fees and method of identification. Some aspects of the driver license process can be done online. These online services include:
Application for duplicate driver’s license
Application for renewal or duplicate ID card
Change of residency address
Scheduling of road test
For other services, you must go to the DMV center. Locate the nearest DMV center near you. There you will through the necessary steps like completing your application, paying fees, getting photographed and taking various exams. Be sure to check the schedule and openings of your DMV center. Many service centers are closed for the weekend and major holidays.
The Driver’s Practice Test
If you are a new driver or new resident with an out-of-state license expired over 8 years, you will need to pass a knowledge test. These knowledge tests are administered at local DMV service centers. The exams take about 45 minutes to finish. No appointment is necessary. The exam will be administered on a computer screen. As you select each answer, automatic feedback will be provided. Be sure to study the correct manual for your exam. You can also download the driver’s test mobile application to prepare yourself. Remember that you can take the exam up to five times in one year. After failing the fifth attempt, you will need special permission from the DMV to take the exam again.
A road test may be necessary especially if you are a new driver. Head to your local DMV to fill out an application for a road test and determine your candidacy. Next, you may reserve a road test online. These tests can only be scheduled 11 weeks in advance. You may also reschedule and cancel your road test via the website. Be ready to give such information as your social security number, birthday and phone number. These tests generally last from 20 to 90 minutes. If you do not pass the exam, your examiner will let you know when you can schedule a new exam. Remember that your examiner will also check to see if your car is registered and safe before administering the exam.
You must also pass a vision test. For a regular driver’s license, the driver must have at least 20/100 vision in one eye and a 20-degree field of vision from the center of one eye. These requirements can be met by the use of lenses. If you fail to meet these requirements, you may have restrictions put on your license. The DMV may also request a skills test and referral to a vision specialist.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Wisconsin DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Wisconsin DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Wisconsin DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Wisconsin DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Wisconsin DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Wisconsin DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Wisconsin DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)