Obtaining a driver’s license in New Mexico is relatively simple, but you must be 18 years of age before you can be issued a license to drive.
First-Time Resident Applicants
If you are 18 to 24 years of age, you must complete the None for the Road self-study DWI awareness class first. The None for the Road class is administered by the University of New Mexico Continuing Education Center. You can obtain information and an application online or by calling 505-277-0051
(toll-free at 1-877- 663-7465). None for the Road brochures and applications are also available at any Motor Vehicles Division (MVD) Field Office. For the Field Office nearest to you, consult the New Mexico MVD website at http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Pages/Home.aspx.
After completing the None for the Road course, you will be issued a temporary license. You must visit an MVD Field Office to apply for your New Mexico driver’s license. If you have an out-of-state license or a New Mexico ID card, it will be hole-punched and may be used in conjunction with the temporary license, for up to 45 days from the date of issue. Staff at any Field Office can issue your temporary driver’s license.
First-Time Relocated New Mexico Drivers
Once you have established residency in New Mexico, you are required to surrender your license from any other state and apply for a New Mexico license.
State law now requires a DWI record check on all drivers moving to New Mexico from another state.
For Your Protection
The New Mexico MVD takes measures to ensure your driver’s license is secure to help protect its residents from identity theft. Persons applying for a first-time driver’s license, an out-of-state driver’s license, a license renewal or a license replacement are issued a temporary license while their regular license is being processed and mailed.
Graduated Driver License
New Mexico also issues driver’s permits to teens who are at least 15 years of age via a graduated licensing process. This program gets teens behind the wheel and gradually exposes them to real-time driving situations. There are three stages to the graduated license program: instructional permit, provisional license, and full licensing. You can obtain information about this process on the MVD website at http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Drivers/New-Drivers/pages/Graduated-Driver-License.aspx.
Documentation and Testing
To get a non-commercial driver’s license, bring the following documents to any MVD Field Office:
–One (1) proof of identification number (Social Security card), and
–One (1) proof of identity (original or certified birth certificate, valid passport, military photo ID), and
–Two (2) proofs of New Mexico residency (anything with your name and address printed on it, such as a utility or credit card bill)
If you do not have a Social Security number, bring to any MVD Field Office:
–One (1) proof of Identification number – no SSN, and
–One (1) proof of identity (see above), and
–Two (2) proofs of New Mexico residency (see above)
Either the “proof of identity” or the “proof of identification number” must also show your date of birth.
The types of identification that are not acceptable are:
–Retail membership card
–Auto club card
–Gym membership card
You will also be required to take the following tests:
Eye Test: Those applying for a New Mexico driver’s license for the first time or persons with a current driver’s license from another state or country are required to pass an eye exam.
Written Test: First-time applicants or those with licenses expired for one year or more must pass the required written test(s). This test is not required if you have a current out-of-state driver’s license, but those with a current out-of-country license are required to take the written test.
Road Test: First-time applicants or those with licenses expired for more than five years must pass the required road test(s). This test is not required if you have a current out-of-state driver license.
A license will not be issued if your driving privileges are suspended, revoked or denied by New Mexico or any other state. You must first resolve the suspension or revocation of your license.
Fees for a New Mexico Driver License
The fee is $18.00 for a four-year license or $34.00 for an eight-year license.
Drivers relocating to New Mexico are charged an additional one-time $15.00 fee for the DWI records check, increasing their total to $33.00 for a four-year license or $49.00 for an eight-year license.
Take Free Practice Test Now
New Mexico DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
New Mexico DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
New Mexico DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
New Mexico DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
New Mexico DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
New Mexico DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
New Mexico DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)