All residents of New York State must be issued a driver’s license from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). New residents must surrender their out-of-state licenses within 30 days of establishing residency. While it is against federal law to hold more than one commercial driver’s license, some exceptions apply.
New York state does not permit anyone under the age of 18 with an out-of-state license or a person of any age with an out-of-state learner’s permit to drive in the state. You cannot automatically exchange a learner’s permit from another state for a New York learner’s permit. No one under the age of 16 is allowed to drive in New York state under any circumstances.
Obtaining a Learner’s Permit
You must first obtain a copy of the New York State Driver’s Manual. You can download it from the DMV website (www.dmv.ny.gov) or obtain a hard copy at any DMV office, Consult the DMV website for locations.
If the applicant is under the age of 18 years old:
• A parent or legal guardian must give their consent on an MV44 application form
• Any applicants who are 17 years or more, have taken a driver’s education course, and have a certificate showing completion will not need parental consent
To apply, applicants must visit a DMV office and bring:
• Birth certificate
• Social Security card
• 6 points of proof of identity (go to http://www.dmv.ny.gov/forms/id44.pdf for the general requirements to prove your identity)
• If you cannot provide 6 points of proof, your parent or legal guardian must accompany you and complete the MV-45 form at the DMV office
• Proof of residency
• Cash/credit card or personal check
The learner’s permit fee is $10; whereas the fee to take the road test is $40.
If you are transferring your license from out of state the fee is $10.
Other License Fees:
Renew Operator’s D or DJ: *$64.50 (Valid for 8 years.)
Renew Class E: *$112.50 (Valid for 8 years.)
Original Class D, DJ, M or MJ Permit: *$64.25 – $110.00 (Based on age at date of application.) Avg. cost for a 16-year old DJ permit is *$92.50
Adding Motorcycle Endorsement to current valid license – Permit: $23.50
Duplicate Driver’s License or Permit: $17.50
Non-Driver ID Card: $ 9.00 to $10.00 (short-term ID) or $13.00 to $14.00 (long-term ID) Reduced Fee ID Cards $6.50 for 62 or older or SSI recipients (must provide proof of SSI benefit)
Duplicate ID Card: $8.00 (or $6.50 if a reduced fee applies)
In addition to bringing the proper forms and documentation to your local DMV office, applicants must also be prepared to:
• Take a written knowledge test, which will include information that is found in the New York State’s Driver’s Manual
• Obtain a passing test score of 14 of 20 multiple choice questions; at least 2 of 4 questions about road signs must be correct (take the practice test to see if you’re ready)
• Submit an eye test form that has recently been filled out by an eye care professional
A New York learner’s permit is valid for 5 years. Any applicant who holds a New York learner’s permit for at least 6 months can then apply for their junior driver’s license. This is the next step toward getting your full driver’s license.
You cannot exchange an out-of-state permit for a New York permit. You must apply for a New York state learner’s permit and driver’s license.
Any person who is a New York resident and has never been licensed to operate a vehicle is eligible to apply for a driver’s license.
New York State Driver License Classes
The most common class of license is issued to drivers who are 18 years of age or older or to drivers aged 17 who have undergone driver education. This license is valid for cars and trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 pounds or less. It is also valid for a driver who tows another vehicle, such as a trailer, with a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds, as long as the total weight of both vehicles is no more than 26,000 pounds.
Other licenses issued by New York State include taxi and livery, motorcycle, and commercial.
Restrictions for Driving with a Learner’s Permit
Regardless of your age, if you hold a learner’s permit, you may not drive:
• Unless accompanied by a supervising driver age 21 or older who has a license valid to operate the vehicle you are driving: eg, only a person with a motorcycle license may supervise a motorcycle learner
• In a DMV road test area
• On any street within a park in New York City or any bridge or tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority
• On the Cross County, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River, or Taconic State parkways in Westchester County
Also consult www.dmv.ny.gov/youngerdriver/map.htm. Based on where you live in New York state, certain other restrictions apply for:
• Time of day you are permitted on New York State roadways
• Type of vehicle you must be driving
• Type of supervision in the car with you (parent, driving instructor, etc.)
Take Free Practice Test Now
New York Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
New York Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
New York Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
New York Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
New York Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
New York Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
New York Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)
New York Practice Test – Quiz 8 (Rules)
DMV New York prueba (Español)