Before you apply for a driver’s license in the great potato state of Idaho, make sure you know the requirements for obtaining a license. The applicable laws will vary depending on your circumstances. Whether you are a teenager just getting on the road or experienced driver from another state, you should know what to expect in order to make the application and licensing process as smooth and efficient as possible.
To obtain a driver’s license in Idaho, you must meet the following criteria:
• Be a resident of Idaho
• Be lawfully present in the United States
• Be at least 15 years old
• Have completed a Graduated License Program if under age 17
• Provide proof of enrollment, attendance or graduation from high school if under age 18
• Pass a three-part test that includes vision, knowledge and road skills
In addition, you must not suffer any mental or physical condition that would impair your ability to drive. If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign a consent form allowing you to be licensed.
The license cost depends on how long the license will be valid. For a one-year license, the fee is $15.00. The fee goes up to $25.00 for a three-year license and to $30.00 for a four-year license. You can pay $55.00 if you want your license to be valid for eight years. You must be at least 21 years old to be eligible for a four or eight-year license.
What documents you need
You must present documents that show proof of your residence in Idaho, your identity, and your age. Utility bills or school enrollment papers are acceptable documents to prove residency. You must also show proof of age and identity with a valid photo ID such as an identification card or driver’s license from another state that is not been expired for five or more years.
When applying for a license or permit, you will take a vision test. Minimum requirements are 20/40 vision in at least one eye. If you’re a new driver you will also need to take a written and skills test. The written exam tests your knowledge regarding the road rules, traffic laws and recognizing road signs. The skills test requires you to get on the road and demonstrate your actual driving skills.
Graduated Driver License Program
Although you cannot obtain a driver’s license in Idaho until you are at least 15 years old, you can begin to take the necessary steps towards getting your license once you are 14 and a half years old. Pursuant to the Graduated Driver License, or GDL, Program, which applies if you are under 17, the first step is to obtain your Idaho Driver’s Permit or Supervised Instruction Permit, called SIP. You can apply at your nearest DMV office location or sheriff’s driver licensing office. The requirements for obtaining a permit are the same as those for obtaining a license, and you must have a valid form of ID that confirms your age and identity. There is a $15.00 fee for the permit.
The GDL program also requires you to enroll in a sanctioned training program for six months. During these six months, you must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving time, including 10 hours of night driving. Your supervisor, a licensed driver age 21 or older, must sit next to you in the passenger seat. Any additional occupants have to sit in the back. You are required to have your SIP with you at all times. Strict adherence to driving laws and program rules is required. Any violation will result in having to start the six-month program all over again. You can also have your SIP revoked if you are convicted of any traffic laws or violate SIP rules. You would then have to reapply for the SIP in addition to having to restart the driver training program.
After you successfully complete the GDL requirements, you have to pass the written and skills test before you can get your license. Note that you cannot take the written and skills until six months after you complete the driver program or until you turn 17, whichever is sooner. You may, however, continue to drive with your SIP as long as it has not expired. You should take the Idaho drivers practice test before you take the actual test.
Transfers from another state
If you have moved to Idaho from another state, you must apply for an Idaho driver’s license within 90 days of residency. This is true regardless of whether or not you still have a valid driver’s license from another state. In fact, because Idaho is one license law state, you must surrender any license or identification card from another state when you apply for a driver’s license in Idaho. If you do not have another driver’s license or photo ID card, you will have to present another form of a valid photo ID, such as a passport, and a certified original birth certificate.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Idaho DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Idaho DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Idaho DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Idaho DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Idaho DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Idaho DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Idaho DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)