People who are interested in driving in the state of Illinois are required to visit a DMV office location to secure their license. Although many people understand this, the majority of them do not know what documents to bring with them to get their driving license.
What is worse is that some people also do not know what steps they should take to get their driving license. There are several important things that an individual should remember in order to obtain their Illinois driving license in a hassle-free and convenient manner.
License Requirements and Fee
Whether they are a first-time adult driver, a teen or a new resident in the state, it is often helpful to understand what is needed to apply for any sort of driving privileges from the Driving Services Department. People should consider the following license before they continue.
· A Class D license allows them to drive the majority of passenger vehicles
· A CDL or Commercial Driving License is needed to operate larger vehicles such as those that carry 16 or more passengers, have a gross weight of 16,000 pounds or more or transport hazardous materials
· A Class M License lets an individual operate a motorcycle
· A Class L License allows a person to drive any motorcycle that has a displacement of less than 150cc
People should also remember that license cost varies based on the license that they are applying for. For example, a basic driver’s license costs about $30 while a commercial driver’s license costs about $60.
If they are younger than 18, they should complete the GDL or Graduate License Program that often includes obtaining an Illinois instruction permit, going through a driver’s education program and finishing 50 hours of practical training before they can apply for their driving license.
Take a Driving Education Course
People younger than 18 must finish an approved driver’s education course before they can obtain their license. First-time drivers aged 18 years and above are not legally required to finish a driver’s education course.
However, it is often a good idea for people to take a supplemental course before they take their written exam. At the same time, these education courses provide their applicants with a driver’s license practice test that covers state-specific regulations and laws.
Locate an SOS Facility
There are more than 130 Secretary of State Offices that provide driver services. Appointment policies and office hours may vary, so it is very important for an individual to call ahead before their visit.
Make Test Day Preparations
Before an individual can obtain their license, there are some important documents that they should bring to their local DMV office that include the following.
· Birth certificate
· Any proof of residency such as a rental agreement, voter registration card or recent utility bill
· Any proof of their written signature such as a major credit card, mortgage agreement or canceled check
· An official document that proves a person’s Social Security Number such as a Social Security award letter, Social Security card or military service record
Take the Written Exam
Basic road rules, pavement markings, signals and traffic signs are all covered by the written exam. People are ready to take the exam once they have studied the state’s Rules of the Road, completed a driver education course and gathered the fees and documents that are required. They should bear in mind that they will have to take the written exam every eight years assuming they have no traffic convictions.
After they have passed the exam, the state will issue them a driver’s permit that enables them to gain instruction from a relative or friend who is over the age of 21 and has held a driver’s license for at least a single year. If they fail the exam, they can retake it at a later date. Illinois state law entitles them to three attempts to pass the written test within a year from the date they paid their application fee.
Secure a Vehicle
Completing a driver’s training program will often provide a person with basic in-car instruction. Aside from that, they should provide a licensed car that meets the vehicle condition standards set by the SOS before they are allowed to finish the driving test.
Obtain Car Insurance
Illinois law requires people to secure car insurance. It is important for an individual to visit the State’s Insurance Center for details regarding minimum coverage requirements and to help them find a policy that fits their budget.
Take the Driving Exam
If a person already has a driver’s license from out of state, they often do not need to take the driving exam. If this is their first time to apply or they are older than 75, an individual must take the driving exam. They are also required to take this exam if they have any violations on their driving record.
Once an individual passes the exam, they will receive their license. Their driver’s license is good for four years. They will also receive a letter in the mail that reminds them when it is time to renew their license.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)
Illinois DMV Practice Test – Quiz 8 (Rules)
DMV Illinois prueba (Español)