Whether a person is new to Florida, new to driving or just needs to secure their replacement license, a trip to a Florida DMV Office location is usually their first stop. However, DMV offices are busy all year round because there are 15 million licensed drivers in Florida.
At the same time, new residents to Florida who have out-of-state driving licenses reach well over 450,000 people yearly. Due to these factors, it is important for an individual to know the requirements and process involved in securing a Florida driver’s license.
Whether they are a teen, a new Florida resident or simply a person who wants to obtain a driver’s license, an individual always need to apply in order to secure a driver’s license. The state of Florida offers three types of driving licenses that include a Commercial Driver’s License, Class E Licenses for people who want to drive pickup trucks and passenger cars and motorcycle licenses.
People should also bear in mind that they must adhere to the State’s driver’s license permit system if they are under the age of 18. They will often start with a restricted Florida learner s permit, practice and take a driving course until they have enough experience to obtain an unrestricted license.
If an individual is a new resident of the State of Florida, they should take their primary ID such as a Certificate of Naturalization or a valid passport, their Social Security Card along with a secondary ID such as a driver’s license from another state. They should then take the hearing and vision tests and pay the $48 license cost. Florida often waives the road and written tests for licensed drivers from other states.
Know the Cost
After determining the license that they need, people should then figure out the fees that they need to pay. An original class E license in Florida is about $48 while a Commercial Driver’s License costs about $75. At the same time, a learner’s permit costs about $48. There are also service fees and ID card fees that an individual should consider.
Take a Driver’s Education Course
People should then take a Substance and Traffic Law Course if they have never secured a driving license anywhere before. If they already have a license, it does not hurt to take a supplemental course in order to help them get familiar with Florida traffic laws.
Prepare for the Test
The state driving exam usually covers Florida road signs and road rules. Because of this, it is vital for an individual to study the State Driver Handbook beforehand. People should also remember to get a few Florida DMV practice tests under their belt to help them understand how the exam is implemented.
Locate a DMV Office
After undergoing rigorous preparation, people should make an appointment at their local DMV office to take their written test. They should call more than a single DMV office if they do not find an appointment time that works for them.
On the day of the exam, people should bring the following items so that their test will go off without a hitch.
· Proof that they have passed the alcohol and drug course
· A parental consent form if they are a minor
· Their hearing and vision tests
· Their Social Security Card if they have one
· Secondary and primary form of identification along with a proof of their date of birth.
· Two items showing proof of their Florida address
· Proper payment
Take the Written Exam
Once an individual has taken a Driver’s Education Course or thoroughly studied the basic rules of the road, they are ready to take the exam. If they are under the age of 18, they can take their exams online via the American Safety Council. Otherwise, they can take their driving license test in person at a Florida DHMSV office. If they fail, they will be charged a $10 fee to retake it.
Obtain a Car
If an individual is going to be doing lots of driving, it is only natural for them to shop around for a car. Many times, a used car can be a great deal for them. However, they should make sure to obtain a Vehicle History Report before they make a purchase.
Obtain Car Insurance
Vehicle insurance is the next important step after a person has purchased a car. People should shop around for a good deal. They should also ask if the company offers a good student or driver discount.
Take the Driving Test
Prior to taking this exam, people should make an appointment with the local DMV office. At the same time, they should bring a vehicle that has adequate car insurance along with a valid registration.
Once they pass this exam, they will be issued with their license right then and there. If they fail, they will be charged a $20 fee to take the exam again. They should ask to make another appointment. A DMV representative will be on hand to tell them when they can retake the exam.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)
Florida Practice Test – Quiz 8 (Rules)
DMV Florida prueba (Español)