Although the process of applying and obtaining a driver’s license can be exciting for new teenage drivers that cannot wait to get behind the wheel, it can also be overwhelming and a little confusing. In Alaska, there are several unique characteristics to the licensing process that new drivers in the state need to pay particular attention to as well. Therefore, it is important to follow this step-by-step guide for new drivers to get a driver’s license in the Great Land of Alaska.
Understand Instruction Permit Requirements
The first most important step towards gaining an Alaska driver’s license is to obtain an instruction permit, also known as a learner’s permit. To be eligible for Alaska driver’s permits, applicants must be at least 14 years of age and have permission from a parent or legal guardian. Instruction permit applicants must also have a strong understanding of the Alaska Driver Manual and all of the associated laws for the road. Although it is not required, it is recommended that new drivers complete a Driver’s Education course to learn essential information about driving.
Apply for Learner’s Permit
New drivers that meet the requirements need to bring at least two valid pieces of identification to their local Alaska DMV office. Primary proof should be a license from another state, school identification, or employee identification, while the secondary proof should be proof of residence and Social Security card. Applicants are required to complete form 478 at the DMV office upon arrival. Once the application is filled out, new drivers need to pass a vision exam and have their photograph taken. Also, it is required that applicants immediately provide payment for the $15 instruction permit.
Pass the Written Knowledge Test
After reading the Alaska Driver Manual from cover to cover, studying the Driver’s Handbook, and perhaps completing a Driver’s Education class, new drivers are ready to take the Alaska DMV written test. The examination is composed of multiple-choice questions about traffic laws, signals, and rules of the road that will be completed at a computer in the DMV examination room. If the driver scores at least 80 percent of the questions correct, a learner’s permit will be awarded and be valid for two years from the date of issue. If a driver cannot pass the written test, it is possible for them to re-take the test the very next day.
Begin On-the-Road Driving Practice
Immediately are the learner’s permit has been issued, the new driver is given the opportunity to start practicing on the road. However, it is important to remember that permit holders must be supervised while behind the wheel by a licensed driver over the age of 21. He or she must possess a valid Alaska driver’s license for the class of vehicle and must sit in the front passenger seat at all times. It is required that all new drivers complete a minimum 40 hours of practice on-the-road experience, including 10 hours at nighttime or in challenging weather conditions. Proof must be documented by either the driver’s parents, employer, or driving instructor.
Complete the Driving Test Successfully
One of the final steps towards obtaining a driver’s license in Alaska is completing a road driving test given by a qualified DMV examiner or third-party tester. When the DMV receives the application for a license, an appointment will be scheduled at either the office or a third-party testing site for the road test. At the scheduled time for the appointment, drivers will need to provide proof of passing the knowledge test and two valid forms of identification. If under the age of 18, it is also necessary to bring a parental consent form. All test candidates must offer their own or a borrowed vehicle for the examination, which must be registered and insured. When the driver passes the exam, he or she will be given a certificate to take to the DMV office to obtain the license.
Receive Provisional Driver’s License
At larger DMV offices, the license will be issued to the driver after passing the driving test. For smaller DMV offices, the license will be mailed out on the following Wednesday or Friday. Either way, the driver’s license cost of $20 is due immediately. As the first license obtained in Alaska, the provisional license has restrictions until the driver reaches the age of 18. For instance, drivers with a provisional license are unable to legally transport passengers under the age of 21 or operate a vehicle between 1 AM and 5 AM. If these restrictions are violated, the DMV has the right to suspend the license and charge a fine of $200. Once the driver turns 18, all of these restrictions will be automatically removed for the full Class D Alaska driver’s license.
Take Free Practice Test Now
Alaska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 1 (Signs)
Alaska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 2 (Signs)
Alaska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 3 (Rules)
Alaska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 4 (Rules)
Alaska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 5 (Rules)
Alaska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 6 (Rules)
Alaska DMV Practice Test – Quiz 7 (Rules)