NYS Permit Test - Rules

This online DMV NYS permit test, with multiple choice questions, is intended to help you prepare for the DMV written knowledge test that is required before you can get your driver’s license.

 

advertisement
advertisement

Congratulations - you have completed NY Rules.

You scored %%SCORE%% out of %%TOTAL%%.

Your performance has been rated as %%RATING%%


Your answers are highlighted below.
Question 1
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a crime. In NYS, the penalties include:
A
Jail term
B
Fines
C
The loss of driving privileges
D
All answers are correct
Question 2
After you move to a new address, you must notify the DMV within:
A
45 days
B
30 days
C
10 days
D
20 days
Question 3
You must dim your lights to low beams within --- feet of a vehicle coming toward you.
A
500
B
100
C
400
D
300
Question 4
How far must you park from a fire hydrant?
A
3 feet
B
5 feet
C
15 feet
D
10 feet
Question 5
You must not follow a fire truck that has its siren or lights operating within:
A
200 feet
B
150 feet
C
100 feet
D
50 feet
Question 6
A school bus with red signal lights flashing is stopped. What does the law require you to do?
A
Wait for approaching vehicles to pass
B
Does not matter provided you sound horn
C
Reduce speed and pass with care
D
Stop 20 feet from the school bus
Question 7
It is legal to use cell phones without hands-free equipment:
A
True
B
False
Question 8
In NYS, what BAC (blood alcohol content) is evidence of intoxication?
A
0.08%
B
0.10%
C
0.05%
D
0.03%
Question 9
Unless otherwise posted, the maximum speed limit allowed on a New York state highway is:
A
60
B
55
C
65
D
70
Question 10
If your license expires:
A
You have 15 days to renew it
B
You can’t legally drive with it
C
You can drive as long as you have insurance
D
You have 5 days to renew it
Question 11
If you are convicted of driving while ability impaired by drugs, it will result in:
A
Revocation of the driver license for at least six months
B
Suspension of the driver license for minimum six months
C
Suspension of the driver license for 60 days
D
Revocation of the driver license for at least 30 days
Question 12
The penalties for a first time DWI offense include:
A
6 month license revocation
B
Fine of $500 to $1000
C
All answers are correct
D
Up to one year in jail
Question 13
When you have a collision, report it to the DMV:
A
Only if you are not insured
B
If $1000 or more in damage to any one person's property
C
Only if other party at faul
D
More than $5000 in damage was done to the property of any person
Question 14
Receiving a driver license in state of New York is:
A
Privilege given by the state
B
Guaranteed if your parents approve
C
Guaranteed if you have money to buy a car
D
Your constitutional right
Question 15
Parking or standing is not allowed within __ feet of a crosswalk at an intersection.
A
20
B
5
C
10
D
15
Question 16
If you refuse to give a breath or blood sample when asked by police:
A
You get a warning that will go on your driving record
B
There is no evidence to find you guilty of drunk driving
C
You cannot be arrested for drunk driving
D
Your driver's license will be taken away
Question 17
The law requires that the wheels of the parked vehicle are within what maximum distance from the curb?
A
20 inches
B
12 inches
C
16 inches
D
24 inches
Question 18
You cannot drive in NYS if you are under the age of:
A
16
B
15
C
14
D
13
Question 19
If you become a resident of NYS, you must apply for a NYS driver license no more than __ days after you become a NYS resident.
A
30
B
90
C
120
D
60
Question 20
NYS law requires every occupant __________ to wear a seat belt in the:
A
Front seats
B
Rear seats
C
Front seats and those under the age of 16 in the rear seats
D
Rear seats and those under the age of 16 in the front seats
Question 21
New York law state that you have agreed in advance, to be tested for alcohol in your blood if police officer suspects you may be under the influence.
A
False
B
True
Question 22
When approaching a railway crossing where an electrical or mechanical signal device is warning of the approach of train, you must stop:
A
At least 3 feet from the track
B
At least 15 feet from the track
C
At least 10 feet from the track
D
At least 5 feet from the track
Question 23
While driving in NYS, ___________ is a traffic violation, punishable by a fine of $100-150.
A
Texting using a hand-held mobile phone
B
Speaking into a hand-held mobile phone
C
Listening to a hand-held mobile phone
D
All answers are correct
Question 24
If you hold a learner permit, you may not drive in a DMV road test area:
A
True
B
False
Question 25
No person may legally operate a vehicle in New York State with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of ----- or more.
A
0.15%
B
1.0 %
C
0.18%
D
0.08%
Question 26
With a valid Class D license you may:
A
All answers are correct
B
Drive a passenger car and truck with a gross vehicle weighing 26,000 lbs. or less
C
Tow a trailer vehicle weighing 12,000 lbs
D
Tow a farm trailer weighing 40,000 lbs
Question 27
If you are convicted of two DWI and/or DWAI-drug violations, both resulting in physical injury traffic crashes, your license:
A
Will be revoked for 6 months
B
Will be revoked for 5 years
C
Will be revoked permanently
D
Will be revoked for 1 year
Question 28
Parking or standing is not allowed Within 30 feet of a:
A
STOP sign
B
YIELD sign
C
All answers are correct
D
Traffic light
Question 29
The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit where it is illegal for any person under 21 years to drive is:
A
0.18%
B
0.08%
C
0.05%
D
Any measurable amount
Question 30
The speed limit in New York City unless otherwise posted is:
A
30 mph
B
55 mph
C
40 mph
D
70 mph
Once you are finished, click the button below. Any items you have not completed will be marked incorrect. Get Results
There are 30 questions to complete.
advertisement

NYS Permit Test

Test your knowledge on the meanings of traffic rules. To get your New York drivers license you are required to take a written test that covers road signs and road rules. This online DMV NYS Permit Test rules practice test, with multiple choice questions, is intended to help you prepare for the DMV written knowledge test that is required before you can get your driver’s license. This free practice written driving test is a lesson that is essential for getting New York state driver’s license at your local licensing office. Please note, however, that this is not the actual test, and you will not receive your license if you pass this practice test.

You must pass the written test before any other part of the driving procedure. Once you have passed it, taken a vision test and paid your fees, you will then be granted a learners driving permit and you can start learning to drive practically. While you have your learners permit you must be accompanied by someone who has a full driving license and who is over the age of 21.

Within the State of New York, it is not permitted for someone under the age of 18, who has an out of state driving license, to drive in the state. It is also prohibited for anyone with an out of state learners permit to drive. It is not possible to automatically exchange your learners permit that you have from another state, to a New York permit. The minimum age for driving in New York is 16.

Before you go ahead and take the test, it is strongly recommended that you take several NYS Permit Test Practice quiz, so you can hone your skills. You can take seven free practice tests per each state. Four of them are tests on road signs, while the other two are about traffic and road rules.

A person who repeatedly fails the exam may lose hope and confidence. Failure can also delay or disrupt important life goals and activities. Few employers want to hire someone without a reliable source of transportation. The ability to drive is often a necessity in everyday life. By approaching the permit and license exam the right way, anyone can succeed.

NYS Permit Test
5 (100%) 1 vote

©2019 driverknowledge.com

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?