FREE MICHIGAN ROAD SIGNS TEST 1
Michigan Road Signs 1
If you have completed a defensive driving course, you may be able to save on your auto insurance premiums when buying a new or used car either by financing, leasing or through bank car loan.
Regulatory traffic signs instruct drivers what they should, or should not do, in certain circumstances. You will be asked to identify roadway signs on the Michigan Permit Test.
Everything You Need to Know About the Michigan Road Signs Test
Are you ready to get on the road and enjoy all the perks a driver’s license has to offer? Before getting that license, you’ll need a learner’s permit. Every state in the country has different requirements for receiving your permit, so it’s important to know what everything about your first step in becoming a driver before you take the Michigan DMV test.
Basic Permit Requirements for Residents Under 18
In order to apply for your permit as a teen, you must meet all of the following basic requirements:
- At least 14 years and 9 months old
- Accompanied to DMV by parent or legal guardian
- Provided all proper documentation, including proof of identity (birth certificate, etc.), proof of Social Security (Social Security card, W-2, etc), and 2 documents proving residency (paystub, report card, bank statement, etc.)
- Completed Segment 1 of Driver’s Ed
All residents of Michigan aged 17 and under must hold a learner’s permit before receiving a license. In the state of Michigan, there is what is known as a Graduated Driver Licensing program (GDL). The first level of GDL includes receiving a learner’s permit from the state. This means that teenagers must reach specific age- and experience-related achievements until the age of 17, to graduate to the next GDL level. Michigan residents receive their Intermediate license in the next GDL step.
Driver’s Ed Requirements
As stated above, you cannot apply for your permit unless you have completed Segment 1 of Michigan Driver’s Ed. There are 2 segments of Driver’s Ed, with the second segment a requirement for receiving your license. Segment 1 of the program must be completed prior to receiving your permit and includes 24 hours of classroom time, 6 hours of time behind-the-wheel, 4 hours of observing time, and a written test.
The written test at the end of Segment 1 doubles as the Michigan permit test. It includes all the knowledge and experience you’ve learned. After passing the Driver’s Ed test and receiving your completion certificate and simply take it with you to apply for your permit. Once you’ve been issued your Level 1 Learner’s License, you’ll need to study and practice for 3 months before moving on to Segment 2.
Basic Permit Requirements for Residents 18 and Older
For adults, the state of Michigan does not require the GDL levels or Driver’s Ed. In fact, there is no Michigan permit test at all for applicants over the age of 17. In order to receive your permit at age 18 or older, you must fulfill the following requirements:
- Visit your local DMV branch with documentation, including Social Security number, proof of identity (citizenship), and proof of residency
- Pass a vision test and be physically-able
- Stand for a photograph
- Pay a $25 fee for a temporary permit (which can be used immediately with the presence of a licensed driver in the vehicle)
While taking those first big steps and starting Driver’s Ed, it’s essential to study and familiarize yourself with all the rules, laws, safety information, and more required to become a great driver. For more on helping you get ready for your Michigan road signs test, contact us today.