NC Driving Test – Rules

This online DMV NC driving test, with multiple choice questions, is intended to help you prepare for the DMV written knowledge test that is required before you can get your driver’s license.

advertisement


advertisement
Congratulations - you have completed NC Rules. You scored %%SCORE%% out of %%TOTAL%%. Your performance has been rated as %%RATING%%
Your answers are highlighted below.
Question 1
The horn must be loud enough to be heard for at least ___ feet.
A
100
B
200
C
400
D
50
Question 2
A child under age __ must be properly secured in a weight appropriate child passenger restraint system.
A
4
B
5
C
6
D
8
Question 3
NC-R10If your intoxication test shows a BAC of 0.08 percent or more, your driving privilege will be revoked immediately for a minimum of:
A
30 days
B
3 days
C
1 day
D
15 days
Question 4
If your license expires:
A
You have 15 days to renew it
B
You can’t legally drive with it
C
You have 5 days to renew it
D
You can drive as long as you have insurance
Question 5
Driving a motor vehicle in North Carolina is:
A
Guaranteed if your parents approve
B
A privilege you earn
C
Guaranteed if you have money to buy a car
D
Your constitutional right
Question 6
When you have a collision, report it to the nearest law enforcement officer:
A
Only if other party at fault
B
Only if you are not insured
C
When any person is killed or injured or the total damage to vehicles and other property appears to amount to $1,000 or more
D
When more than $5000 in damage was done to the property of any person
Question 7
Unless otherwise posted, the speed limit is ______ in cities and towns.
A
55 mph
B
40 mph
C
35 mph
D
45 mph
Question 8
Drivers less than ___ years of age are not permitted to use a mobile telephone or other additional technology associated with a mobile telephone while operating a motor vehicle.
A
16
B
19
C
21
D
18
Question 9
Individuals who are ___ years of age or older can apply for any type of North Carolina driver license and/or motorcycle endorsement.
A
16
B
18
C
17
D
21
Question 10
NC-R1How far must you park from a fire hydrant?
A
15 feet
B
10 feet
C
5 feet
D
3 feet
Question 11
What action should you take if you fail to receive the renewal notice card reminding you that your driver license is about to expire?
A
It is still up to you to renew your license
B
No renewal required
C
Wait for renewal notice
D
None of them
Question 12
A new resident has ___ days after establishing residence to obtain a North Carolina license.
A
120
B
60
C
30
D
90
Question 13
When does the law require lights on vehicles to be turned on?
A
No specified time
B
After 9:00 pm
C
Between sunset and sunrise, and at other times when visibility is reduced
D
Between dusk and dawn and any other time you cannot see clearly for a distance of 500 feet
Question 14
How many points will be recorded against your license for illegally passing a stopped school bus?
A
6
B
5
C
2
D
3
Question 15
If you refuse to give a breath or blood sample when asked by police:
A
You get immediate revocation of your driver license for at least 30 days and an additional, minimum 12-month revocation by the DMV
B
Your driving privileges will be suspended for three months
C
You get a warning that will go on your driving record
D
There is no evidence to find you guilty of drunk driving
Question 16
NC-R13The ___________________ must wear a safety belt.
A
Driver
B
Driver and all passengers
C
Rear seats passengers
D
Front-seat passengers
Question 17
Do not park within ___ feet of an emergency vehicle that has stopped to investigate an accident or to give assistance.
A
75
B
100
C
50
D
25
Question 18
If a driver who is less than 21 years old is convicted for an offense of driving with any amount of alcohol or drugs in his/her body, his/ her license will be revoked for:
A
One year
B
Six months
C
15 days
D
Three months
Question 19
Keep proof of insurance in your vehicle or carry it with you whenever you drive.
A
False
B
True
Question 20
NC-R11Under North Carolina law, it is illegal to drive with a bodily alcohol content of ___ or more.
A
0.15
B
0.08
C
0.12
D
0.18
Question 21
In North Carolina, learner permits are available to persons age ___ and older.
A
17
B
15
C
16
D
18
Question 22
If your license is lost or stolen:
A
Go to the nearest driver license office and apply for a duplicate
B
You must take the written test to replace it
C
You cannot get new license
D
You must take the road test to replace it
Question 23
In North Carolina, it is unlawful to use a mobile telephone for e-mail or text messaging while operating a vehicle.
A
True
B
False
Question 24
NC-R12According to the law, what BAC (blood alcohol content) is evidence of intoxication?
A
0.18%
B
0.28%
C
0.08%
D
0.15%
Question 25
You must notify the DMV office of an address change within ___ days.
A
90
B
45
C
30
D
60
Question 26
In a roundabout, a driver should drive in:
A
A clockwise direction
B
Any direction
C
The direction of the oncoming vehicles
D
A counterclockwise direction
Question 27
In North Carolina, a learner permit is valid for:
A
18 months
B
6 months
C
2 Years
D
1 Year
Question 28
How many points will be recorded against your license for aggressive driving?
A
3
B
2
C
6
D
5
Question 29
A vehicle registered in North Carolina is required to pass a safety inspection before it can be registered.
A
False
B
True
Question 30
All motor vehicles registered in North Carolina must be inspected __________ for mechanical safety.
A
Every two years
B
Annually
C
Every three years
D
Every five years
Once you are finished, click the button below. Any items you have not completed will be marked incorrect. Get Results
There are 30 questions to complete.
advertisement

NC Driving Test

Test your knowledge on the meanings of traffic rules. To get your North Carolina drivers license you are required to take a written test that covers road signs and road rules. This online NC DMV learner’s permit traffic rules practice test for NC Driving Test, with multiple choice questions, is intended to help you prepare for the DMV written knowledge test that is required before you can get your driver’s license. This free practice written driving test is a lesson that is essential for getting your state driver’s license at your local licensing office. Please note, however, that this is not the actual test, and you will not receive your license if you pass this practice test.

A person who repeatedly fails the exam may lose hope and confidence. Failure can also delay or disrupt important life goals and activities. Few employers want to hire someone without a reliable source of transportation. The ability to drive is often a necessity in everyday life. By approaching the permit and license exam the right way, anyone can succeed.

Choose the Right North Carolina Driver License Test for You

Are you a new driver? A teen driver? Perhaps you are looking for the proper license to go with your newly purchased motorcycle? Whatever the reason may be, the North Carolina DMV has the license just for you.

The North Carolina DMV issues licenses in three categories: regular, commercial, and permits & provisional licenses. It is in these categories that you will know exactly the license you’re looking to have and the requirements to getting one. Let’s look at each one more closely.

Regular

Regular licenses come in three types: A, B, and C. This type of license is the most common at DMVs and is the typical choice for drivers who operate their personal vehicles. This type of license has a $5 annual fee.

Commercial

Similar to a regular license, commercial licenses come in three types: Commercial A, Commercial B, and Commercial C. The main difference with commercial licenses is this type is specifically for the transport of passengers and goods/property/materials. A commercial license just may be the match for you if you are looking to start a career as a bus driver. The annual fee for a commercial license starts at $60.

Permits & Provisional Licenses

A big difference in permits and provisional licenses is that these do not serve as an official driver license. Although a permit does give you access to the road, depending on your age and type of permit there are restrictions such as having a licensed adult in the passenger seat. The fee for permits is $20.

Endorsements

There is one more thing you should know: North Carolina licenses come with optional endorsements. What are those you ask? Endorsements can grant or restrict certain privileges depending on the type of license you carry. For example, if you own a motorcycle and have a regular or commercial license, a motorcycle endorsement is needed to fully operate it on the road. This is in addition to passing a motorcycle knowledge and skills test.

We know getting a license is exciting but it’s also about finding the right one for you. Getting your license does not have to be confusing and at Driver Knowledge, we are here to help with all the resources to make the process a smooth one. For more information on getting a license in North Carolina, contact us today.

©2019 driverknowledge.com

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?