Illinois Drivers License Test Rules

This online DMV Illinois drivers license test, with multiple choice questions, is intended to help you prepare for the DMV written knowledge test that is required before you can get your driver’s license.

advertisement


advertisement
Congratulations - you have completed IL Rules. You scored %%SCORE%% out of %%TOTAL%%. Your performance has been rated as %%RATING%%
Your answers are highlighted below.
Question 1
It is illegal to drive if your Blood-Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is ______ or more
A
.10 percent
B
.12 percent
C
.18 percent
D
.08 percent
Question 2
You must notify the Secretary of State’s office of an address change within ___ days by visiting a Driver Services facility.
A
10
B
45
C
30
D
60
Question 3
Individuals convicted of mandatory insurance violations will lose their driving privileges:
A
For a minimum of two months and be required to pay a $50 reinstatement fee
B
For a minimum of one month
C
For a minimum of 15 days
D
For a minimum of three months and be required to pay a $100 reinstatement fee
Question 4
If you are convicted of illegally passing a stopped school bus
A
Your driver’s license will be suspended for three months
B
Your vehicle registration will be suspended for three months
C
You will pay a $150 fine
D
All answers are correct
Question 5
The speed limit in City/Town Areas unless otherwise posted is:
A
30 mph
B
60 mph
C
50 mph
D
40 mph
Question 6
You must dim your lights to low beams within --- feet of a vehicle coming toward you.
A
100
B
400
C
500
D
300
Question 7
Parking or standing is not allowed within 30 feet of a:
A
STOP sign
B
All answers are correct
C
YIELD sign
D
Traffic light
Question 8
IL-R10Receiving a driver license in Illinois is:
A
Guaranteed if you have money to buy a car
B
Privilege given by the state
C
Your constitutional right
D
Guaranteed if your parents approve
Question 9
IL-R1How far must you park from a fire hydrant?
A
5 feet
B
15 feet
C
3 feet
D
10 feet
Question 10
If you are under age 21 and convicted of DUI, you face the revocation of your driving privileges for a minimum of ________ for a first conviction.
A
Three months
B
Two years
C
One year
D
Six months
Question 11
Wireless/cell phone use while driving is prohibited for drivers under age:
A
15
B
16
C
17
D
19
Question 12
A driver has ___________ to report a crash after it occurs.
A
30 minutes
B
3 days
C
24 hours
D
10 days
Question 13
The first DUI conviction will result in the loss of your license for a minimum of:
A
15 days
B
3 months
C
6 months
D
One year
Question 14
If you are arrested for driving with a BAC of .08 percent or more and/or any impairing drug in your system, your driving privileges will be suspended for:
A
Six months
B
Three months
C
One month
D
15 days
Question 15
If you refuse to give a breath or blood sample:
A
You get a warning that will go on your driving record
B
Your driving privileges will be suspended for three months
C
Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year
D
There is no evidence to find you guilty of drunk driving
Question 16
IL-R12Headlights must be lighted from sunset to sunrise.
A
True
B
False
Question 17
IL-R13Illinois law prohibits drivers from text messaging while driving.
A
False
B
True
Question 18
All vehicles operated in Illinois must be covered by liability insurance.
A
True
B
False
Question 19
Illinois law requires __________________ to wear safety belts.
A
All drivers and front-seat passengers age 8 and older
B
Front-seat passengers age 16 and older
C
Front-seat passengers age 18 and older
D
Rear seats passengers
Question 20
The law requires that the wheels of the parked vehicle are within what maximum distance from the curb?
A
12 inches
B
10 inches
C
14 inches
D
16 inches
Question 21
A crash report must be filed by the driver of a vehicle if the crash involves death, bodily injury or property damage of more than:
A
$4,500
B
$10,000
C
$5,000
D
$1,500
Question 22
What action should you take if you fail to receive the renewal notice card reminding you that your driver license is about to expire?
A
It is your responsibility to renew your license before expiration
B
None of them
C
No renewal required
D
Wait for renewal notice
Question 23
You should lower your headlights when you are following within ______ behind another vehicle.
A
400 feet
B
300 feet
C
600 feet
D
500 feet
Question 24
A child under age __ must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system.
A
6
B
8
C
5
D
7
Question 25
Parking or standing is not allowed within -- feet of a crosswalk at an intersection.
A
20
B
15
C
10
D
5
Question 26
IL-R11Do not park a vehicle within -- feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing.
A
50
B
30
C
40
D
20
Question 27
Illinois law state that you have agreed in advance, to be tested for alcohol in your blood if police officer suspects you may be under the influence.
A
True
B
False
Question 28
If you are age 16 or 17, you may receive your driver's license if:
A
Complete 50 hours of practice driving
B
All answers are correct
C
Pass the three parts of the driver’s license exam
D
You successfully complete a state-approved driver education course
Question 29
If your license expires:
A
You can drive as long as you have insurance
B
You have 15 days to renew it
C
You have 5 days to renew it
D
You can’t legally drive with it
Question 30
According to the law, what BAC (blood alcohol content) is evidence of intoxication?
A
0.18%
B
0.16%
C
0.10%
D
0.08%
Once you are finished, click the button below. Any items you have not completed will be marked incorrect. Get Results
There are 30 questions to complete.
advertisement

Illinois Drivers License Test

Test your knowledge on the meanings of traffic rules. To get your Illinois drivers license you are required to take a written test that covers road signs and road rules. This online Illinois drivers license test, with multiple choice questions, is intended to help you prepare for the DMV written knowledge test that is required before you can get your driver’s license. This free practice written driving test is a lesson that is essential for getting your state driver’s license at your local licensing office. Please note, however, that this is not the actual test, and you will not receive your license if you pass this practice test.

Ride and Learn – By this point, you’ve probably ridden as a passenger with family and friends many times. But when you’re studying for a permit, riding along becomes an excellent learning opportunity. By closely observing experienced drivers, you’ll learn a lot about driving basics that’ll help you pass the permit test. So the next time you’re a passenger, watch how the driver goes through intersections, comes to a stop, merges into traffic, and parks, as well as how they respond to various street signs and road conditions. When you’re riding with a driver you know, it’s also a good time to ask questions about different driving situations as you see them. You can learn a lot on the road, even if you aren’t behind the wheel.

A person who repeatedly fails the exam may lose hope and confidence. Failure can also delay or disrupt important life goals and activities. Few employers want to hire someone without a reliable source of transportation. The ability to drive is often a necessity in everyday life. By approaching the permit and license exam the right way, anyone can succeed.

©2019 driverknowledge.com

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?